Dicotyledonous plants

The flowering plants (angiosperms) are dominated by by two evolutionary groups. These are the monocotyledons and the dicotyledons and are distinguished by the number of embryonic seed leaves (cotyledons), the arrangement of vascular tissue in the stem, leaf venation, and manner of leaf attachment to the stem.

Dicotyledenous plants tend to exhibit the following characteristics (although exceptions may be found):

  • One embryo leaf - cotyledon
  • Tap root system - one main root with side roots
  • Leaves with net venation
  • Secondary growth in stems
  • Whorls in flowers made up of four or five parts

Dicotyledenous plant groups in New Zealand include:

For more information see*

*The Network is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

This page last updated on 25 Sep 2012